Keep In Touch

Total Score: 4.40

keepintouch

MV: n/a
Sound Quality: 4
Singing Quality: 4
Contextual Fit: 3

Lyrics Only

Release Date: 12/05/2005

Is… is this a stalker song? I mean, it’s not explicitly “I’m lurking outside your windows” or whatever, but it’s not the first Super Junior song that weirded me out when I read the translated lyrics (the first was Bonamana, Korean version (Japanese version is less creepy)). I know I said I wouldn’t score anything based on lyrics because I don’t speak Korean and it’s not fair to judge based on a translation because nuance and errors and etc etc, but um yeah, this reads as “You dumped me because you want to go work on your life and grow as a person but I know you’re totally coming back even if you deny it AND I’LL BE WAITING, FOREVER.” Yeesh.

Sonically this goes along nicely with “Rock This House“, inasmuch as they both remind me of late 90s American boy bands’ dance songs. This one is more dramatic and could be used as a soap opera or possible anime theme song, though. Both songs also propel Super Junior’s vocal strength with the energy and beat of the production, though the members continue to have issues with awkward breath timing (or I think that’s what it is – it’s either that or bad sense of rhythm but that seems less likely). Or well, on another listen, it may be that this is a heavily syncopated vocal line and the percussion track does not do an incredibly great job of enforcing the rhythm, so if the members are having to basically find the midpoints between beats themselves, that could definitely be tricky.

(I’ll also point out here, that much like “So I“, this song wiggles back and forth between Cm and Em, which are two keys that don’t necessarily have a great deal in common. At least there’s no key change fakeout.)

***

A small note: Apologies for poor quality images. It’s hard to find early decent-quality SJ pictures without Kyuhyun, and he’s not part of the group yet. This should get better fairly soon. (This is also why I am sometimes resorting to non-SJ pics. Not sure if that will continue.)

Leave a Reply

